My February Challenge: Day One

Attempt #1: Super-easy Bacon Burgers

So, for my first attempt at an easy, cheap, nutritious meal, I found a recipe that I didn’t have to go shopping for. All the ingredients are things I keep on hand anyway, and the only part that really took time was making the hamburger buns. If you’d rather buy the buns, that’s up to you and probably easier and not much more expensive.

For my hamburger buns I used the dinner roll dough recipe that came with my breadmaker. I added a teaspoon of onion powder, and shaped them into 6 large rolls. After shaping, I let them rise for 1 hour, then baked for 25 minutes at 350° F.

For the burgers, fry five strips of bacon until very crunchy, and chop them. Grate 1/2 cup of cheese, I used cheddar. Mix cheese and bacon with 2lb. of uncooked, defrosted ground beef, and 1 package of onion soup mix. (This part is fun, you can use your hands. Reminiscent of making mud pies as a kid.) Divide into six equal parts, and cook in a frying pan over medium heat until desired doneness.

Feel free to experiment with your mix-ins. Don’t have onion soup mix? Use some seasoning salt and chopped green onion or onion powder. Craving garlic? Crush or mince a clove or two and throw it in.

The rest is history, toast the buns, slice some tomato and onion, wash a few leaves of lettuce, and serve with mayo and catsup. Also great as leftovers, this recipe was dinner for all of us, lunch the next day, and midnight snack for hubby. Many thanks to my dear friend Liz for the magazine that gave me the recipe! On a scale of 1-10, I give it a 9 for simplicity, and a 7 for convenience. It ended up being about $2 per serving. You can also make everything a little smaller, and make 8 rolls and patties, depending on how much your family eats, cutting the cost of each burger a little.

Let me know if you try it, and what you think!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. babyblurbs
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 23:37:05

    Stay tuned, tonight I’m making roast chicken and potatoes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Themes

