Attempts at Frugality by a Contientious Cook

February, 2012 is going to be a record month for me. I am going to *attempt* to cook 30 nutritious dinners that my husband and son will both eat, at under $2 per serving. That’s under $6 a meal. After consistently going over-budget in my household expenses and food for 6 months, I’ve decided that it’s time for a change.
With whole fryer chickens at $1.99 lb, and previously frozen tilapia even lower, it looks like my boys will be eating lots of poultry and seafood. Unfortunately, one won’t eat meat with bones and neither particularly likes seafood. I do know, however, that buying a cheap roast and having it ground at the meat department or cutting it into stew pieces at home is a great way to save on beef.
My family’s vices when it comes to groceries seem to be bacon and ice cream, and I’m considering cutting both out altogether. That should save us about $30 a month. Both boys love hot dogs, also, but ONLY the all-beef ones, which run about $4.50 lb. Yes, the hot dogs, too, must go.
Instead, I’m going to be focusing on things like corn tortillas, dry or canned beans, potatoes, the above-mentioned meats, and pastas with homemade sauces. I’ll also be avoiding expensive veggies like asparagus, in favor of colorful and nutrient-rich ones like red and green bell peppers. Skip the mandarins, proceed straight to the bananas.
I also have a goal to blog at least 3 times a week about my recipes and things I’ve learned, and if you , my dear reader (yes, there appears to be only 1 of you) have any tips, please feel free to share!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elisa
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 00:30:24

    Well, I guess I would make reader #2?? 🙂 I just stumbled across your blog last week, I think. I hope you will be sharing some of the recipes that you try in February! I am always looking for new, but inexpensive, dinners! Right now, I have about $4 per person per day to work with at our house for food, so I’m always looking for creative, inexpensive dinners! One way we save is by freezing leftover main dishes to use later for a second dinner. Instead of eating the more expensive leftover dinner food for lunches, we can eat cheaper food like PB&J or homemade burritos for lunches.

    Reply

    • babyblurbs
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 21:07:09

      Thanks, Elisa! I hope my experiment is helpful for you. Now that I’m eating for two, and my son is taking after his daddy in food capacity, we’ve really had to watch our grocery budget. I hope my little experiment helps you out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Themes

