The Family Way

Yes, it was on purpose. Yes, we know how close in age they’ll be. Yes, we want them that close. Yes, we know what causes that, we just like it!

Ever notice how rude people get when you get pregnant?

Obviously, not everyone is completely insensitive, and frankly, I’m a little oversensitive due to the raging hormones wreaking havoc on my body. But, really?

Pregnancy is a journey. It’s an adventure. And I’m a homebody. I know women who claim that they loved being pregnant, it was the best time of their lives, they loved their pregnant bodies, they’re jealous when someone else is pregnant… and I want to slap them. Don’t get me wrong, I love the end result. And there are definitely moments that I wouldn’t trade for the world, like hearing that little heart beating for the first time. But I just don’t like being pregnant. I don’t like feeling like an elephant, I don’t like puking my guts out for 3 months, and I don’t like the person I turn into. For the record, my husband is an absolute saint… and my brother-in-law found out I was preggers and moved out. Let’s just say, I’m not a very nice person when I don’t feel well.

Even with all that, I have to say I’m excited. Another little life entering our family, a baby brother or sister for Jude, and we know we’re being cared for. Two weeks after we found out we were pregnant with Jude, Michael got laid off. He’s had “temporary” work for the last year and a half. Two weeks after we found we were pregnant with Blessing #2, he got his dream job. God is good!

Obviously, I have all the stresses of pregnancy. Will I be able to spend equal time with the kids? Will I ever sleep again? Will everything be okay with the baby and I? Will I still like my midwife in 7 months? But all that aside, to bring a new life into the world is a blessing and a challenge, and I pray each day that I’m up to that challenge. And by the grace of God, I know I will be.

Leave a Reply

Themes

