Sleep is Overrated

Dear Mom,

Obviously, it’s been a while since I had time to sit down and write anything besides a shopping list. Remember how I complained that Jude wasn’t rolling? He rolled. Then he scooted. Then he crawled. Now he cruises! And it was all in the space of about a month! Mom, I can’t keep up with him! I have to vacuum twice a day, just to keep him from finding something gross to put in his mouth! He wakes up at 5 (well, technically, he wakes up at 10, and 1, and 3, first.) and he doesn’t stop moving until bedtime at 7! Naps are virtually non-existent… for either of us.

A couple of weeks ago I set up a baby play yard on the back deck (in the shade) so that I could sit out there and get some sun. I gave him toys, a blanket, plenty to look at, and I lay down not 2 feet from him on a towel. “Waaa!” (read, “why are you out there and I’m in here?”) “Jude, mommy’s right here, and you’re fine. Play with your truck, sweetie.” “Waaaaaaa!” (“I’m getting pretty bored in here, Mom.”) Silence. “DadadadadadadadadadadadadaDA!” (Guess) “Dada is at work and he wouldn’t rescue you anyway. Play with your toys.” At this point my dear sweet angel started to yell, and squeal, and squawk, alternately, in an effort to win my attention and his freedom.

Whilst he was making this  unholy noise, our neighbor’s goat had wandered over to the fence that divides our property from theirs. Every time Jude made a noise, Momma Goat over there shouted back that she was coming to rescue him. As she was about to jump the fence, I took the squalling baby over, showed her that he was fine, and deposited him back in the play yard. Rinse and Repeat.

Anyway, all that to say, thank you, thank you, thank you, for taking him for a couple nights. I missed him terribly, but I feel like a new woman after two nights of uninterrupted sleep. Thank you for convincing me that a break was just what the doctor ordered. Now I’m refreshed, rejuvenated, and ready to dive back into the fray. I wish all new moms had a mom like you.

Your Loving and Very Grateful Daughter

Leave a Reply

Themes

