Ragout

Dear Mom,

Since we only have one car now, Michael is doing all the grocery shopping on his way home from work. That requires me to have a menu plan at least a week in advance. So yesterday, I was planning out the month of March. I’ve never made an extensive menu plan (read, beyond tomorrow) before, so I was just flipping through cookbooks for ideas. By the way, thank Aunt Judy for the box of cookbooks she sent me, there is no better gift for a new wife or mother than cookbooks!
Anyway, I came across this crockpot recipe for a meatball ragout. Now, Mom, you know how it is to cook for someone who has, shall we say, firm likes and dislikes. But this sounded perfect! I dogeared the page, and since it was a 6 hour recipe, started in.

Meatball Ragout

1 can Diced tomatoes with chiles or garlic
1 cup frozen veggies of your choice
2 1/2 cups of frozen, cooked meatballs
2 t. dried Basil
1 can Cream of Mushroom soup

That’s it! Throw it all in the crockpot on medium for 6 hours and, voila! (serves 3) I also made bisquick poppers, which went very well with it.

Tex-Mex Biscuit poppers

2 c. Bisquick
2/3 c. milk
1/2 c. shredded Cheddar cheese
1/4 c. chopped green onions

Mix together, drop on greased cookie sheet, and bake at 450 F for 9 minutes. Makes 24.

So I made it, but I guess I need to stick to S&W diced tomatoes, because the brand I used was so spicy, Michael could barely eat it. The funny thing was, he would fan his mouth and tell me how spicy it was, then he would spoon more in and tell me how good it was! So I guess it was a hit.

I suggest that all new wives get into a practice of planning meals at least a week in advance whenever it’s an option. Not only does it eliminate extra trips to or purchases at the grocery store, saving money and time, but it also takes a lot of stress out of your 4 o’clock hour. “Oh man, what am I going to make for dinner?!”

I was just given an organic baby food cookbook, so I’ll let you know what I find in there that’s worth trying, later on.

Love,

Alissa

Leave a Reply

Themes

