A Day in the Life

For all those gals out there whose husbands come home from work and say, “This place is a train wreck, what did you do all day?”… Send them my way!

Honey, this is what I did today:

7:30am- Got up, fed the baby, changed his diaper. Did I eat breakfast? I think I ate breakfast…

8:00- Left baby with sister, went to the gym

9:00- Got back home, fed baby. Changed very nasty diaper, got sprayed in the process. Gathered up all clothing, bedding, and stuffed animals that got wet, put them in the laundry.

9:20- Called store to make sure they had the right filter for the heater.

9:25- Put baby swing in bathroom, put baby in swing. Got into shower.

9:30- Baby starts fussing, only one leg is shaved.

9:31- Fussing turns into wailing.

9:32- Rinsed hair, gave up on shaving. Proceeded to get dressed while holding whimpering infant.

9:45- Changed another dirty diaper. Put clothes on baby. Fed baby.

10:15- Put on makeup, brushed hair.

10:20- Gathered baby supplies, put baby in carseat.

10:21- Took baby out, changed diaper. Put him back. Frantically searched for cell phone.

10:30- Found phone in car, left to run errands with one earring in and hair still dripping.

1:00- Got back home, put away groceries.

1:10- Changed a third dirty diaper. Moved swing into kitchen. Put baby in swing.

1:20- Made lunch, sat down to eat and read a magazine. Baby launched Binky. Rinse and replace. Twice.

1:40- Washed dishes. Baby cried, put him in the baby carrier. He helped do dishes.

2:00- Fed baby.

2:20- Put him back in the swing. Wiped down countertops and sink. Put away about 3 million bottles and bottle accessories.

2:30- Changed dirty diaper #4.

2:45- Down for a nap. 15 minutes of Mom-time to blog.

Quotes of the day: “A baby is an inestimable blessing and bother.” -Mark Twain

“I can’t think why mothers love them. All babies do is leak at both ends.” -Douglas Feaver

Ever feel like the little critters run your life? Funny thing, though. As I put him down for his nap I had a moment of realization. Even with all the baby-centered activities in my day, I haven’t just sat and cuddled him today, except when he was eating! Sure, I lugged him around in his carseat through the store, and wore him in the baby carrier while I was doing chores, but I haven’t just sat down and talked to him and snuggled him yet today. Now, I don’t feel guilty enough to wake him up, even new moms aren’t that dumb. But when he does wake up, I don’t care what else needs to get done, I’m going to spend some quality time with my baby.

“No one ever said on their deathbed, ‘I wish I’d spent more time at the office.'”
– Mary Kay (Ash)
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. raspberrychai
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 00:53:32

    This is great. Sounds like a lot of diapers. And some cuddle time at the end. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Themes

