Baby Blurbs

Dear Mom,

WHY DIDN’T YOU TELL ME?

You made being a wife and mother look so easy, I always thought it would be a breeze! Mom, you’ve lived with Dad for the last 25 years (Congrats, by the way, how was the trip to Spain?) and I’ve never once heard you raise your voice in anger. Not even at that “I’m-so-dumb-I-eat-rocks-and-get-stuck-in-trees” Labrador. You home-schooled FIVE KIDS, and I never once saw you lose your cool. I could probably count on one hand the number of times each year that we had boxed or processed food for dinner. Everything was home-made and delicious.

Why didn’t you tell me that it takes hours to prepare and present a good home-made meal? Why didn’t you tell me that living with a man with a strong personality requires all the patience and virtue of a saint? Why didn’t you tell me that keeping a house clean is a full-time job? And WHY didn’t you tell me that no matter how many times you wash them, dishes always get dirty again, and no matter how many loads you do, the laundry is always back on the floor by bedtime?

You had five kids! I admire you, I think you’re a wonderful mother, but FOR GOODNESS’ SAKE! Every time I turn around my darling little bundle of joy has pooped or puked on something else. And we won’t even talk about the actual having the baby part. Five times, Mom? Really? It’s enough to make me question your sanity.

At least I have such a fantastic role model. I’ll never get there, but you will always give me something to aspire to. Anyway, love to all. The baby is doing great, he is cooing and blowing spit bubbles constantly. I know it’s just a matter of time before he’s rolling over. I’ll send pictures soon.

Love,

Your Daughter

Leave a Reply

Themes

